Board of Zoning Appeals

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Citizens are appointed to five-year terms; Board of Supervisors recommends appointees to the Circuit Court; meets 2nd Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in Historic Courthouse, as needed.  Appointees must be sworn in at the Circuit Court Clerks office before performing official duties.

§15.2-2309, of the Code of Virginia, 1950 as amended, provides the framework for Boards of Zoning Appeals.

Chapter 175, Article 18, of the Mathews County Code of Ordinances, provides the local requirements for Administrative Bodies and Their Responsibilities.

Board of Zoning Appeals Bylaws - Amended 3-9-11

Board Member Title Term Expires
William S. Small
North, VA 23128 
Chair 3/22

Peter Clendenin

Hallieford,VA   23068 


Roger Gamble
Port Haywood, VA  23138


Paul Vanden Bout  

Susan, VA  23163


Michael Rowe 
North, VA   23128              



Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer